1 month down, 5 to go!

After Thursday’s visit with the nutritionist, I met Friday morning with my primary doctor. (Who still, by the way,  has not completed the paperwork for my CPAP machine. Grrr.)

Anyhow, we had a lot to cover. He went over my labs and echocardiogram first. The results were surprisingly positive. I almost didn’t believe him, but my cholesterol is only 147, which is 33 points lower than it was at age 13! How this is possible, I have no idea. But he was pleased and so was I! There were no problems at all presented in my blood work and my heart echo was “excellent.” It did pick up a couple of minor valve abnormalities, but the Dr said it’s nothing to think twice about.

My blood pressure yesterday was 136/90 again, however, and Dr. Richter wants me to begin taking it myself twice a month and recording the results. If it doesn’t go down, we may begin treating it with medicine. We went over my blood glucose levels again, which were also slightly high, and Dr. Richter said that he thinks my body was “becoming toxic” and that I am pursuing this at “exactly the right time.” I knew my health was failing. I could feel it.

Dr. Richter does disagree somewhat with my nutritionist’s eating plan, however. While the nutritionist allows for 5-7 grains each day, he wants me to cut those in half and never go beyond 1500 calories per day. He sees this as a diet, whereas the nutritionist sees this more as training me for balanced eating. I’m not sure where I stand on that, but I’m going to try and reduce some grains and see what happens.

So recap of everything that has happened since April 13th when I decided to get my ass in gear on pursuing WLS: I’ve had about 4 primary doctor visits, 1 ER visit, 2 nutritionist visits, 2 polysomnograms, I was diagnosed with sleep apnea, and I’ve lost (at least according to this morning’s numbers) 13 pounds. Things are moving along!

Leave a Reply

