The interviews

I took a vacation day yesterday and went on two job interviews, which gives me the warm and fuzzy sensation that I’m slowly plotting my exodus.

The first interview was for My Dream Job. The interview could not have gone any better. The women were friendly, I felt welcomed and comfortable and didn’t have any trouble answering questions and being open and (I hope) engaging. I can’t stress enough how happy I was there. I met with four different people in three different sessions, and the last session ended with the interviewer saying, “Meghan, you’re more than qualified for four different positions we have open. Let me explain each of them to you, and you tell me what appeals to you most.” Once she did that, I realized that My Dream Job is not really that. There’s another job that is truly My Wildest, Hallucinogenic, Dreamiest Dream Job. Problem is, the position isn’t approved yet, but they’re working on it and they think I may be the impetus to get that done since “they don’t want to let me get away.” !!!

Now please God, work your miracles to ensure that their insurance coverage includes the weight loss surgery I need. If not, I pray that someone will be amenable to purchasing a rider for me since I’m definitely going to ask if it comes down to it. There is always a way.

I can’t really explain it, but just being there reinvigorated my sense of professionalism. I feel “awake” professionally again. I know I’m capable of so much more than the doldrum I endure now.

And the second interview… uh, not so much. I think they liked me. I certainly liked all 6 (yes, SIX) of them, but I don’t think I’m a good fit for the position. I think they need someone older with more specific, related experience. But that job did have awesome benefits so you can bet that if they call, I’m on it.

Now I wait & pray & try not to obsess.

Leave a Reply

