The new doctor

With my original PCP’s retirement, I’m in the unlucky position of trying to find a new doctor in the middle of my 6-month physician supervised diet & exercise plan. I made an appointment with a Dr. Aung, an internalist, and I have to say… this makes me nervous.

She seems very smart and I liked her. But I’m not convinced that, at the end of 4 months, she would be my ideal advocate for gastric bypass. She made a comment that at the end of the 6-month diet, maybe we can try Meridia. No!!! No. I need someone who doesn’t think we have 8 years to toy with every option: studies show they don’t work. I need a permanent tool to help me lose weight and keep it off.

I already knew my gyno was smokin’ dope, but today’s appointment did result in one good thing, which is that Dr. Aung wants me to have a pelvic ultrasound to test for PCOS. I read through the symptoms, and I think the odds are that I do have this disorder. The idea of fertility problems saddens me, but not as much as I might have expected. I’ll have the ultrasound and see what happens.

Dr. Aung also prescribed Animi 3 vitamins, and asked me to also take an over-the-counter B12 supplement. I have a lot of numbness in my hands, which I first attributed to typing nonstop, and then to sleep apnea, but it’s not going away. She thinks it may be a B12 problem. On my last labs, my B12 level was at 456. Apparently, 200-1100 is considered acceptable, but she said mine should be at least 500 and probably more like 900. As a pre-op gastric bypass patient, this scares the living daylights out of me. If I’m having B12 trouble now, what will happen after surgery??

I have my doubts in Dr. Aung as a proponent of WLS, but I’m going to stick with her. I haven’t the time nor the energy to keep searching for another primary. If she doesn’t support the surgery, I will simply beg and plead and cry and convince her otherwise. Hey, it works with traffic tickets.

Leave a Reply

