Ode to blogs

I’m 90% sure I’ll have laparoscopic Roux-en-Y gastric bypass surgery in the near(ish) future. Naturally, I want information. Lots of it. So I bought or borrowed every WLS text I can find, talked to the few post-ops I know, joined support groups, and searched medical journals online. But sometimes, you just want to ask 500 people simultaneously, “how long was your surgeon’s waiting list?” or “what the crap is a foamie?”

And these questions, fortunately, can be directed to any of a handful of WLS message boards. I myself joined boards like ObesityHelp and Quixotic (both of which could use a serious web 2.0 makeover (says the girl with the generic free blog)).

Generally, these boards are awesome. They’re free, well-attended, and I’m beyond impressed with many posters’ willingness to share the nitty gritty in these very public spaces. The openness and support is really rather astounding. BUT. The whole message board thing?

I am so over it.

I’m serious. To watch (read?) grown women insult each other in the lamest, most uninspiring ways is somehow very… sad? boring? unproductive? freaking ridiculous? Suicide-inducing? Exchanges like:

You’re not my mother!”

“Thank gawd I’m not your mother!”

“Yeah, thank GOD you’re not my mother!”

“You’re not a Christian!”

“Your mother’s not a Christian!”

Seriously, ladies? F’real?? But that just brings me to my real point: I *love* blogs. Unless an arsehole commenter creeps in, it’s pure bliss. Your readers are people who want to read your stuff. You can post whatever the heck you want. No moderation. No banning for cryin’ in the sink. (And–omigod–no rules against talking about banning!!)

No 18 million clicks to look at 9 measly photos and another 19 million clicks to get back where you came from. Just you and your wordpress. Or me and my feedburner. The downside: you can’t ask a question like, “what’s y’all’s favorite protein bars?” and get a big response (well, at least I can’t). But you know? That’s a trade-off I’m willing to make if it means I can keep my mom out of it.

5 Responses

  1. i’m with you on the message board crap! i thought they were a wealth of information in the beginning, but now, they just make me crazy! between the people who know EVERYTHING and the people who know NOTHING…and the whining…and the meanness…it’s just too much.

    i don’t have a blog; i read lots of them.

    and my fav protein bars are Pure Protein – chocolate deluxe!

  2. I hear that. I get so flusterbated (That’s mah new word.) scanning and reading looking for pertinent conversation. I love blogs. So much less drama.

  3. Yup, I hear you on that one. I’m on OH, but I probably only open 15% of the threads. And then only find 25% of the ones that I open actually useful in any way….

  4. @ Deb: people who know everything and nothing… good way of describing it! Thanks for the protein recommendation!!

    @ Beth: Flusterbated, I like it!

    @ Puppie: That means only 3.75% of all posts are helpful… yep, sounds right!

  5. I hear you! There has been a run on trolls at Quix and the bickering is making me insane!

Leave a Reply

