Updates all around

I’m in this weird limbo regarding WLS. I know it’s going to happen, I know there’s a lot to be done, but for right this minute, all I can do is finish month 4 of my pre-op diet and wait. Toward the end of this month, I’ll schedule my consultation with Dr. Jawad (surgeon) for September to coincide with the end of month 5 in my supervised diet. During the 6th month, I will get my psych eval, copies of my records from pcp and nutritionist, and get everything to Dr. Jawad’s office to file with insurance.

I wish I had more control over the timing of how surgery will be scheduled. My sister is getting married December 29th, so I need to either postpone surgery until after her wedding or make sure it’s early enough that I’ll be recovered for my Matron-of-Honor duties. My 6 month diet ends October 25th, and if we assume Dr. Jawad’s office files for insurance approval that same day (which I know won’t happen), it could be November 25th-December 7th before I hear back. Then, from what I understand, Dr. Jawad’s office has a 2-month waiting list for surgery dates, so my surgery could be scheduled as late as February 7th. Gah! And this, of course, doesn’t take into account the possibility that I could be denied by insurance and have to go through the appeals process.

In my ideal situation, Jawad’s office would file for insurance approval October 25th, we’d hear back with insurance approval within 2 weeks, and they’d miraculously have an opening for me in early December. I could have the surgery and recover before my sister’s wedding, and have the entire month of December off from work combining vacation time with the University’s closure for Christmas break.

I’m interested to see how this will all play out. But as for right now, all I can do is finish month 4 and wait.

Leave a Reply

