Motorcycle Mama

I just took two days off of work to enroll in a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Rider Course. Yep, I spent two days in the Florida heat learning to ride a motorcycle. It was hot, dirty, challenging, exhausting, and AWESOME. I can hardly believe I did it!

I have to admit, I’m not the most coordinated person. I made my high school’s softball team many years ago, but I pretty much warmed the bench all season. I have no balance, no natural coordination, no desire for anything physically challenging.

And to be honest, I’m terrified of motorcycles. But after about two years of trying to dissuade my husband from buying one, I realized  it’s a losing battle. Lee is going to buy a motorcycle and there’s nothing I can do about it, except make sure he’s not riding by himself.

And taking the course together meant that Lee had to TRY riding a motorcycle before he actually invested money in one. As luck would have it, though, he is a natural rider and he’s more pumped about getting a bike now than he ever was before. Honestly, I am too. It’s so fun!!!

We are big on safety, including all the proper riding gear, riding with groups, lots of practice, avoiding busy highways, etc. I just can’t wait to get my own bike!  It should be within the next 6 weeks or so.

The one down side is that I felt obligated to fill my parents in. (We were all at the hospital last night for the birth of a baby, and they asked about my sunburn.) They did not take the news well. In fact, my mom didn’t say a word (which is a bad, bad sign) and my dad was his usual sarcastic self (“just because you took a class doesn’t mean you can buy a bike” and “meghan, on a motorcycle? she can’t even hold a cup in her hand!*)

Three awesome outcomes from the motorcycle class:

  • My Florida driver’s license now has a “motorcycle also” endorsement on the bottom. I think that makes me bad to the bone, b-b-b-b-baad.
  • My legs muscles hurt like a mo’fo. I feel muscles I forgot I had. It feels great to be this sore!
  • My husband has a new respect for me. For the last 24 hours, all he could say was, “I’m so proud of you. You did such a good job out there!”

And a note to my training bike: You weighed 300 pounds. I weigh 330. Thanks for hanging in there with me, you little trooper.
*referring to my B12 issue which had me dropping stuff all the time. My B12 levels are now normal thanks to Animi-3 vitamins.

Leave a Reply

