FRUSTRATION

I have completed every possible step to make sure that my surgery is approved by insurance. I have forwarded all documentation to the insurance coordinator at my surgeon’s office. If you know me, you know that I like to have a clue as to what’s going on with my case.

I emailed the insurance coordinator two weeks ago. No response. I’ve called three times only to get either voicemail (which promises a return call within 24 hours) or “she’s away from her desk at the moment.” I’ve left only ONE message so that I don’t become annoying. I faxed something yesterday and the cover sheet had a note that said: I have two questions. (1) do you have everything you need for insurance submission? and (2) how quickly should I call BCBS to make sure they’ve received my file? Please call me at …

These are not hard questions. They’re barely even questions at all, because I already KNOW I’ve given them everything they need. I just want confirmation that they’ve received it and that my case has been sent to insurance. Still, I get nothing. No answer to email, no picking up the phone, no returning voicemail.

I’m trying to be patient. I know there’s a thin line between being a proactive self-advocate and being a pain in the ass. I’m trying. Any response would have been appropriate. An email that simply says, “Meghan, I got your voicemail but I’m totally swamped. I won’t be able to get back to you within 24 hours, but I will connect with you as soon as I can” would have been sufficient.

Deep breaths.

Leave a Reply

