Insurance fun

Odalys called me back after an email that made it pretty clear I was frustrated with all of this insurance nonsense.

She got on the phone with BCBS, got more of the same run-around, and found out that the person who originally handled my claim first reviewed it as outpatient, then moved it to pre-certification instead of pre-determination. So all this time, the pre-determination department has NOT been reviewing my case. I am NOT approved. I just wonder why Odalys didn’t figure this out when I told her I was approved LAST Tuesday??

Odalys had the lady Nina at BCBS expedite my pre-determination case since it has been lying dormant since October 10th (which doesn’t make sense. I hadn’t even finished my 6 months until October 22nd. Whatever).  Then Nina is supposed to call Odalys back to let her know what to do next, and then Odalys will call me and let me know what’s happening and if I don’t hear from her tomorrow, have a happy thanksgiving.

I’m so over it. Obviously, I’ve given up on the idea of a December surgery. And the doctor will be out of town for the majority of January, so hell, I could be looking at flippin’ February. All I can do is wait.

Oh, and I guess I need to start hoping I’m approved too (again…).

One Response

  1. Insurance companies suck, Meg, but I’m not too terribly impressed by the chick you are dealing with at the surgeon’s office. They should have handled all of this for you and handled it correctly. After all, they are the ones who will get paid by doing your surgery.

    I’m sorry this happened, but think of the possibility that there is a reason for it, even though you don’t know what it is. And I wouldn’t give up on a December date just yet; it could still happen. I’ve had to ask for supervisors at my insurance company because the reps were constantly giving me different fucking answers. Totally pissed me off.

    Hang tough! This will happen for you!!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

