MOTHERFUCKER

I don’t apologize for my language. I am pissed beyond pissed at no body in particular, primarily because I can’t flippin’ figure out who the flip to be mad at. Fuckers.

So I got insurance approval (after it took 11 days in the mail to arrive and couldn’t be faxed for some bullshit reason). I then faxed the insurance approval to my surgeon’s office this morning. I then waited for a date, and called this afternoon to mention a particular week that wouldn’t work for me.

Instead of discussing surgery scheduling, however, the insurance coordinator informed me that my approval letter was a pre-certification letter and not a pre-determination letter. It should have a diagnosis code. It should have a hospital name. She asked, “did you tell them which hospital we’re using?” I said, “uh, no, I figured YOU would tell them which hospital YOU’RE using when YOU submitted my information” (I was nicer). So basically, the letter I have is useless.

So, not being one to wait until the morning, I went ahead and called BCBS after hours and got a human being on the phone. She said, “Your surgeon’s office is jerking you around. You don’t need pre-determination, you are already authorized on gastric bypass surgery. That’s what the approval letter was for.” I tried to understand, I really did, but I don’t get what the FUCK anybody is talking about. What the crap is the fricking difference? And why the hell am I the one trying to figure it out?

I am trying to relax, I am. I’m just beyond frustrated because I seem to be doing ALL the work to get my surgery scheduled. Everything that has happened thus far is something I’VE done. I don’t understand insurance. I shouldn’t have to. It’s not my freaking job.

I don’t know if it’s BCBS or the surgeon’s office. All I know is that I shouldn’t have to beg or dance in circles or turn inside out to get a MEDICALLY NECESSARY PROCEDURE that is EXPLICITLY COVERED IN MY POLICY which I have ALREADY BEEN APPROVED FOR.

I don’t get it. And that pisses me off.

Leave a Reply

