The pre-op information packet has arrived!

I love getting the details–you know, so I can add the dates to my calendar and get it all scheduled out. The pre-op information packet arrived in the mail, although it didn’t include much that I didn’t already know. Points of interest:

  • I am required to bring my spouse with me to the pre-op visit. Lee was going to come anyway, but it’s interesting that there’s no choice in the matter. I can’t imagine doing this without a spouse’s support, so I’m glad they require spousal participation. As of right now, the plan is to bring both Lee and my mother along for the appointment.
  • One line in the letter stuck out to me as especially ironic. It reads: “We have made all the necessary arrangements for you to undergo the Lap. Gastric Bypass Surgery” (emphasis added). That just makes me chuckle. I want to retort, “No, I’ve made all the arrangements, thankyouverymuch. I did a 6 month diet that included at least 25 different doctor’s appointments. I scheduled, paid for, and compiled the results of multiple pre-op tests. I compiled the information necessary for insurance submission, and I fought with insurance to get the right letter. You’ve made all the arrangements? Pshaw!” But that’s just because I’m a little snarky sometimes.
  • On January 22nd, my admit time at the hospital is 6:00 am. Crikey!
  • The instructions say to stop taking blood thinners, aspirin, or Plavix 5 days before surgery. When I met with the nurse in my pre-op visit, he said I could go on Heparin 2 weeks before surgery if I chose to in order to prevent blood clots, but this letter says no blood thinners. So I’m a little curious about whether I’ll be able to get Heparin after all.
  • It says, “Please start a high protein / low carb diet as soon as possible.” Well that means after Christmas. Because right now, it just ain’t happening. I’ll start Wednesday.
  • It also says, “At least two weeks prior to surgery, please advance your diet to a Liquid Protein Diet. (Please replace two of your meals with the protein shakes and have one high protein / low carb meal). You can use Low-carb Slim-fast shakes or the Dr. Atkins advantage drinks. If you are a soda drinker, please stop now and replace sodas with water.” So I guess that’s their version of the pre-op liquid diet? I’m tempted to start this earlier than two weeks before surgery… the shakes would definitely be easy once I go back to work January 2nd. I’d really like to lose as much as possible before surgery. Maybe I’ll pick up some shakes at the grocery store this afternoon.

And that’s it. Everything else in the packet was FMLA paperwork (don’t need it) or directions to their office.

This is it. It’s real. It’s happening. 30 days!

2 Responses

  1. Merry Christmas, Meg!

    I’m so excited for you!

  2. Hey there,

    A couple of comments – or helpful hints…

    1) I hope that they actually give you some good information at your pre-op visit – I’ve felt like it has been so anticlimatic everytime I’ve seen my surgeon. It was a total waste of my time and my husband’s as well… but maybe that was because we were so OVER prepared?! Who knows – I hope your surgeon is MUCH better about that!!

    2) I would have totaly felt the same way about the letter saying that they’d done all the work… to bad they didn’t pay for all of it then, right?

    3) I wasn’t supposed to take asprin or advil for a week or two before surgery, but they never said anything about Heparin… they gave it to me at the hospital, and I had no problems… lots of bruises, but no other problems… walking as much as you can at the hospital will help with not clotting too. I walked at least every 1 1/2 hours… I did laps around the hospital floor – and was up walking within 5 hours after surgery… it helps move the gas that they pump into your body too – which can be painful.

    4) You might try the Isopure protein shakes – they are the ones I’ve used since surgery and while they get really boring – they have 50 grams of protein per shake. I have one a day now – and it takes 3 of my 6 daily meals for the day to get it down. I also go to HEB and get a speical milk product from them called Mootopia – it’s a milk that they’ve concentrated to make it have more protein and less sugar. You can mix the shake with water, but I do the milk for an extra 14 grams of protein. (the protein is key in not losing your hair)

    If you have any questions or want to discuss any of these items further – just drop me an email.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

