Goodbye 2007

Today’s post isn’t about New Year’s resolutions or looking forward into 2008, but looking back on the year that has come and gone. It seems strange to be sad about a year ending, but life is good, and things are changing, and how I’d love for some of them to simply stay the same.

I’m proud of my 2007. It was a life-changing year. I made a lot of decisions that are healthy for me.

In January, Lee & I closed on the new house that took forEVER to build. I’ll never forget our first night here. With the mattress on the floor of the  master bedroom and the stereo playing soft, gentle music, I slept better than I had in AGES. Maybe it was because we had the first noisy, rowdy sex we’d had in months… just wasn’t possible living at my parents house during the transition from the old house to the new. I love this home. I love living here. Thank you God, for putting us here.

In April, finally decided I was sick of feeling like utter crap and decided to DO something about my weight. I decided on weight loss surgery and set a plan in motion. I saw a new primary doctor, and he took excellent care of me. I found out about sleep apnea and began sleeping well again.  I started seeing a nutritionist. I went to surgery information meetings. I took steps.

Up through September, I continued my 6 month supervised diet and I was vigilant about keeping appointments and seeking help and preparing for surgery. I told a few family members and some close friends about my decision. I kept losing weight.

In November and December, insurance ruled my thoughts. The bottom line is that I was approved and all is well. I also retook the GRE exam and scored a 1380… high enough for a fellowship in my PhD program that begins in August. Praise you, God, for miracles. I’m in awe.

And today, on the last day of 2007, I look back over the year proud of the steps I’ve taken and the things I’ve done. I’m not ignoring my problems, I’m facing them. I’ve decided to take control of my life. I’m seeking help from others instead of retreating within. I’m drawing boundaries. I’ve learned more about my husband and my marriage than ever before, and I have hope for our future. I’m learning to lean on God in ways that aren’t sterile or church-y, but very real. I am not afraid.

2 Responses

  1. Loved your post, Meg! I was especially struck by your last sentence because God, to me, has always been so much more than church. Faith, just like WLS, is such a journey and I can’t think of God as anything less.

    Happy New Year, Meg!

  2. Sounds like your 2007 has put you in a great place for 2008 and beyond!! I can’t wait to read through your archives when I get some time after tomorrow is complete. 🙂

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

