The Day After Tomorrow

I’ve had a wonderful few days. Friday afternoon, I had lunch with a friend whose in town for a few days. Since I don’t see her often, she doesn’t know about my surgery. It was nice to spend an entire meal NOT thinking or talking about it!

Saturday morning I swung by my parents house so my dad could borrow my truck to pick up some things at Home Depot, and I asked my parents if they had any questions, concerns, anything they feel unsure of before surgery. My mom, after having come with me to the pre-op meeting at Dr. Jawad’s office, has a good understanding of the surgery and why I’m doing it. I haven’t talked much with my dad directly about it, so he did outline some concerns about complications and transfer addictions and what-not. I did my best to explain that I’ve been tested in every possible way to make sure I’m healthy enough for surgery but sick enough to need it, that I’m already seeing a counselor to stave off potential transfer addiction issues, that my surgeon is the best in Florida, etc. Dad explained that the whole issue leaves him feeling helpless; when I have a problem, he wants to fix it. He’s supportive and he trusts that I’ve thought this through, but I think he still remains pretty concerned.

My sister says she’s comfortable with it because I’m comfortable with it. She knows I’ve done research, she’s been paying attention to news stories and articles on it herself, and she knows I’m aware of all the positives and negatives. She’ll be coming into town the day of surgery and again the Friday afterward when Lee’s at work and my mom’s out of town. And I believe Rachel will be updating the blog from the hospital.

And last night, I had dinner with a bunch of friends. It was a lot of fun, and I stuck to the pre-op diet instructions.

On the agenda for today:

  • Get this house clean
  • Pick up prescriptions
  • Laundry, laundry, laundry
  • Start packing a hospital bag

Approximately 48 hours from this very moment, I’ll be positioning myself on the operating table and counting back from 100….

2 Responses

  1. Wow, Meg! Hard to believe the time is almost here! I think you and Lacy will be good for each other, going through this operation and life change so close together! The internet is an amazing place, isn’t it?

    I’m so glad your sister will be updating us as I hate waiting to hear how things go! I’ll give you all my well wishes tomorrow!

  2. What a nice treat to be able to go out and spend some time NOT thinking about it. 🙂

    You’re prepared, and everything is going to go great – be sure to take your before photos tomorrow night and just know that even if there are a rough couple of days ahead… you’re making the best decision of your life.

    Remember to do as much walking as you can afterwards, and follow all the doc’s instructions… and if you have a couple of moments of wondering “why in the world did I do this to myself” – it’s completely normal. Not in a regretful sort of way…but just a normal reaction to the little bumps in the recovery road.

    Always remember that your online friends are always here and ready to talk about anything that is on your mind.

Leave a Reply

