A Day in the Life

I’ve been slowly developing a vitamin/eating/drinking schedule since surgery, and I’ve sort of settled on this for now. It’s helping me get everything in, so I thought I’d share:

Morning

  • Once I wake up and brush my teeth, I hit the first protein drink. I sip it slowly, but fast enough so that I finish while it’s still cold. I’ve learned that if it gets warm, I’ll never finish it! For this drink, I prefer the EAS AdvantEdge Carb Control drink in Cafe Caramel (11 oz fluids, 17 g protein)
  • Once my drink is finished, I take the first Bariatric Advantage Chewable Multivitamin
  • An hour and a half later, (let’s say 9:30), I take my first Bariatric Advantage Calcium Lozenge
  • 9:30-10:30: open a 20 oz bottle of Propel water, and start sipping. No rush.
  • 11:00 – 12:00: drink second protein drink (11 oz liquid, 15-17 g protein).

Afternoon

  • 12:30 – 2:00: Keep sipping Propel water.
  • 2:00 ish: take second Chewable multivitamin, keep sipping Propel
  • 3:30 ish: take second Calcium lozenge, keep sipping Propel
  • By 5:00: drink 3rd protein drink (11 oz fluid, 15-17 g protein)

Evening

  • By 6:00: finish Propel (20 oz. fluid)
  • 7:00ish: eat a small dinner. Maybe some spaghetti sauce (strained) mixed with grated parmesan cheese (hey, if grits are okay…); maybe some strained soup; maybe some yogurt. Whatever I feel like. I do try to have at least 2 different things so that I get some variation of different flavors.
  • After meal: Bariatric Advantage sublingual B12 (warning: this sucker takes like 40 minutes to dissolve!)
  • By 9:30: 4th protein drink (11 oz fluid, 15-17 g protein)
  • Bedtime: Bariatric Advantage Chewable Iron, another off-brand sublingual B12 (because I was deficient to start with), brush teeth, go to sleep.

Wake up, and start all over again.

I know this isn’t ideal. I’m supposed to be doing 3 “meals” a day, but I swear… I have no interest in eating until dinner time when I’m tired of protein drinks and I’m fixing something for Lee. If I get “hungry,” I may grab some Jello in the afternoon. (And by “hungry,” I mean interested in tasting something different).

And while I know this routine can’t last forever (I’ll eventually have to get protein from food sources, which will mean I’ll have to drink a lot more water), it’s working for now. I end each day with exactly 64 oz of water (plus soups or Jello), and 60-68 grams of protein.

I think I’ll be able to stick to this routine fairly well once I return to work too by sipping protein drink #1 on the drive to work and drink #3 on the drive home. We shall see!

3 Responses

  1. I think you’re doing great – you just have to figure out what’s best for you and stick to it. I’m still struggling with the fluids, but not at all with the protein drinks – I guess a small part of me likes them because I know that I won’t have ANY problems injesting them.

  2. Hey, I think it’s great that you already have a plan this early out! And if it’s working, it’s working! I think (and mind you this is a naive pre-op talking) that you are giving your pouch plenty of healing time too!

  3. Wow Meghan. You have just kicked my butt in every way possible. I am in awe of your routine. I REALLY need to change my slacker ways and get on a schedule.

    Man…I think we need to dialogue about how you do all this so dutifully, b/c I HATE the protein shakes.

    I am so not worthy!!

    way to go!

Leave a Reply

