New Church, perhaps?

Lee is recovering well from his hernia operation. I have to say, it’s really, really great spending this much time with him! We usually have pretty difference schedules: I’m off on weekends, but he usually works (retail, you know?).

Spending the weekend together has been nothing short of blissful. I love this man, and I love spending time with him when he’s relaxed. He was so relaxed, in fact, that he suggested we go try a new church on Sunday.

Now we’ve been going to Northland for a while, although we haven’t officially joined since our last church split about 3 years ago. Northland works for us–they have like a billion different service times, so we’re able to switch it up depending on what works for us that week: Saturday night? sure! Monday night? Sure! Sunday? Do we prefer 8, 10, 5, or 7? Which city? Online? It’s incredible.

But, needless to say, we don’t feel “connected.” Christian music has been the one constant in our lives, substituting for the encouragement and conviction we would normally get from a church family.

So this week, we tried FBC Eustis, which is only a few miles from our house. I’m the first to admit, I’m not in a hurry to re-join a Baptist church. I’m not denominationally inclined. I think Jesus is what matters… period. Not when or how you were baptized, or any of the other nuances that have split into denominations. And honestly, I long for a church that’s a whole lot more open-minded and welcoming to ALL kinds of folks than the crowd a Southern Baptist church typically draws.

That said, I loved this church.

  1. The first thing I saw was a greeter with a sign that said “flash your lights if you’re a first-time visitor!” Now that was fun! He directed us to visitor parking, which was full.
  2. Visitor parking was full. That’s always good.
  3. Normal parking was full. Even better.
  4. I saw old people! Young people! Kids! White people! Latino people! Black people!!! Keep in mind, we live in a very old, ultra-white area (at least for what I’m used to here in Florida). And churches are said to be the most segregated part of society these days. And we’re an interracial couple. This matters to me, and when I saw some semblance of diversity, my little heart leaped for joy!
  5. When we walked in, someone warned us not to go in the first door. If we did, we’d be walking right into the front of the sanctuary. You know, first-time visitors REALY appreciate that kind of information!
  6. The music was hoppin’.
  7. The pastor’s hot. Woops! I didn’t mean that. I mean “he’s on fire for the Lord.” Ahem. And he’s young. Like 40’s, and his message was relevant and interesting. I couldn’t take my eyes off… wait, I mean, I couldn’t help but listen intently.
  8. The choir! It was awesome! And it was HALF MEN! Like literally fifty percent. Nice
  9. They have a school. Not that it’s necessarily a big plus or anything, but I like that.
  10. Attendance from last week was like 500 in small groups and 750 in worship. Our last church declined when everybody was going to Sunday School but not regular service, so I’m glad people are coming to church!
  11. They do lunches in the school cafeteria after services. Isn’t that cute? It’s all fellowship-y!

So, needless to say, I’d like to go back and try it a second time. Lee liked it too, but he’s not as enthusiastic about it as I am. I’m praying God will keep leading us there if He’d like it to be our new church home.

3 Responses

  1. Meg

    I am SO glad that you are finding a place like this. My current church home isn’t really a great fit for me, but my husband loves it, so it’s a difficult compromise.

    I hope you both figure out where your are supposed to worship and find your place there!

    blessings
    Lacy

  2. Yeah!! I’m so glad that you won’t be a worshiping vagabond anymore!! 🙂

  3. Oh Meg,

    I’m so jealous…I love my little church but there are moments when I am not convinced we are going to make it since our split two years ago. I so want our church to have a permanent pastor and to grow! We have two services, and about 75 people total. It’s kind of depressing.

    But good for you! I’m so glad to know that the churches are full somewhere!

Leave a Reply

