I want to pump me up.

You guys!!! I joined a gym. Can you believe it??

Yep, I had an appointment at Gold’s Gym last night and signed right up. I probably shouldn’t have committed to a 2-year contract, bu oh well.

But that’s not all. Not only did I sign up for the gym last night, but I WORKED OUT THIS MORNING. Well, I walked on the treadmill for 30 minutes. In the Cardio Theater. They play movies while you work out in the dark!

So I braved the 30-degree weather this morning (hey, that’s RIDICULOUSLY COLD for a Florida girl) and went to the gym at 5:30. It was awesome.

And I’m going back tonight for a sit-down session with a personal trainer who will get me going on an exercise regiment.

My  goals?

For now, I just want to build up my fitness level. I’m kind of pitiful. For that, I can do the treadmill and perhaps some of the group exercise classes.

I’d also like to work on toning some muscles. My metabolism needs a serious boost. (Because how is it that I’m eating only 800 calories a day and not losing weight?!)

And eventually, I really would like to get in some yoga-type stuff. I want to be lean, and stretchy, and strong!

This gastric bypass is my chance. My chance to NOT fight this same weight for the next twenty (or thirty, or forty) years. I don’t care if my weight drops fast or slow, but IT WILL COME OFF. I’ll be pounding the gym to make sure it happens.

6 Responses

  1. You go girl!! The cardio theater idea sounds really cool… I would love that! Only at 5:30AM – I might want to fall asleep in the dark… hmmm… I guess I’ll stick to my reading of the Women’s Murder Club novels while riding my stationary bike… but I’m with you in spirit!! Even if we do have a time zone difference. 🙂

  2. Wow, YAY! Awesomeness girlfriend!

    Mike and I are supposed to join a gym in march. I hope we follow through. I’m SO excited for your follow through.

  3. Dang, movies on a treadmill in the dark? I wonder if our Gold’s Gym does that! I was gonna join the YMCA post-op but now I’m reconsidering!

    You go, Meg! The weight will come off! Have no doubts about it!

  4. alrighty, just so you know, my scale has not moved in TWO WEEKS. This is killer. Today, all I had was half of a potbelly sandwich sans the top piece of bread. Ugh. I forget to eat, I tell you!

    I KNOW I’m consuming under 1,000 calories which could be my problem…I am going to cringe when I go to the nut. and she tells me EAT MORE. Not to mention, I find eating protein at every meal quite difficult. I’m such a veggies girl. I could be a vegetarian if I didn’t love meat so much. But really, it’s hard to get protein in at EVERY meal.

    Yeah, so I’m stuck at a 35 pound loss-at six weeks out. I so wanted to lose 50 pounds total at my two month. Who knows…but I don’t think it’s gonna happen. *chuckles*

  5. Hey Girl,

    Have you gotten our emails from yesterday? I know Kim was really interested in your thoughts! 🙂

  6. We can only assume that you are so busy pumping yourself up that you have not had time to update your blog! Let us know you’re okay, all right?

Leave a Reply

