The Flowering of Megameggs’ Consciousness

I’ll try to take this seriously. I’ve finished the first chapter of A New Earth and I’m about to watch lesson one on Oprah.com.

While many of the passages seem ultra-hokey, I think there is a strand of truth that runs throughout the text, and that’s simply that we’re all sort of existing in our lives, not really awake to ourselves or to each other.

Eckhart writes, “This book is about you. It will change your state of consciousness or it will be meaningless” (7). Well now, I couldn’t agree more! We shall see which way it goes.

Now here’s a silly one: “You cannot fight against the ego and win, just as you cannot fight against the darkness. The light of consciousness is all that is necessary. You are that light” (8). Am I? Really? I know someone else who says He’s the light, and I’m more inclined to believe that. But whatever… this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine… this is so silly!!

But then there are gems that resonate: “The first part of truth is the realization that the ‘normal’ state of mind of most human beings contains a strong element of what we might call dysfunction or even madness” (8). Word, yo! So very true. Normal is overrated. This madness is later referred to as a “veil of delusion” (9).

And then Eckhart touches on the concept of sin. He points out that “to sin mean to miss the point of human existence. It means to live unskillfully, blindly, and thus to suffer and cause suffering” (9). Um, yeah. I can dig it.

More on madness:  “If the history of humanity were the clinical case history of one single human being, the diagnosis would have to be: chronic paranoid delusions, a pathological propensity to commit murder and acts of extreme violence and cruelty…. Criminally insane, with a few brief lucid intervals” (12). Again, I’m down with that. Truer words, right?

So what’s the point of spirituality?  How does it work? Eckhart says, “You do not become good by trying to be good, but by finding goodness that is already within you, and allowing that goodness to emerge” (13). Yes, I have goodness in me, but I believe it’s because I’m made in God’s image and perfected through Jesus.

And we see more of Jesus here: “out of this insight into the nature of the human condition–we may call it the bad news–arises a second insight: the goods news of the possibility of a radical transformation of human consciousness. …In the teachings of Jesus, it is salvation” (13).

Here’s my favorite line from the chapter: “To recognize one’s own insanity is, of course, the arising of sanity, the beginning of healing and transcendance” (14). I believe it. We have to acknowledge where we’re deficient to ever overcome.

Okay, nevermind, this is my favorite line: “What a liberation to realize the ‘voice in my head’ is not who I am. Who am I then? The one who sees that” (22). That’s powerful stuff right there.

So I’ll keep reading. And making fun of it. And liking it.

2 Responses

  1. I’m not sure I like it….but mind you, I’ve only read your excerpts! Bu the bit about sin? It made it sound like a choice and though I guess sin is a choice, it is something that we also cannot help being human. So to say we are living unskillfully and blindly, makes it sound like we are not living up to our full potential, but our full potential in this life will never be perfect. It isn’t a possibility. Am I making any sense? Okay, shutting up now.

  2. I agree with Kim, but I also don’t buy into most of the stuff she pushes these days. I don’t know – to me the Bible is the only book that I go to for information of this type, not something completely manmade… I sort of felt the same way about The Secret too though. I just seems like it’s furthering someone’s agenda and not really what I believe.

    I do like your comments though – so it’s entertaining in that way too.

Leave a Reply

