My Face is My Face Again

I had a cleaning scheduled at the dentist’s office this morning. For the past 3 years or so, I’ve been going to the same place, and each time I’ve gone the receptionist has been someone I went to high school with named Melissa. We weren’t friends or anything, but I was sure we recognized each other.

Finally, after today’s cleaning, Melissa said, “Oh my gosh! I haven’t seen you since high school! What are you up to?” You know, the obligatory discussion: where are you living? what do you do? Kids? Married? Etcetera.

Except that I’ve seen her precisely 6 times since high school, all in that same office. She just didn’t know it.

Have I been THAT unrecognizable all these years?! Apparently so. In any case, it’s nice to have a recognizable face once again.

3 Responses

  1. Ooh, those meetings are the worst. I still get them. I was about 200 lbs in high school and shot up to about 300 after wards – but…. I still get those bizarre “Wait, are you??” looks.

  2. I haven’t had that experience yet, but I’m sure it really is weird… I can’t imagine someone not knowing me… or not recognizing me.

  3. I remember going to a dinner theatre one time a few years after high school. I was around 250 lbs… so about a 90 lbs. gain from my senior year. Across the table, sat the mother of my best friend. My best friend that I had been friends w/ from 7th grade on… I hadn’t see her mother though since graduation, and when I saw her I ran over and said HI!! She had no idea who I was. She stared blankly at me, and I knew she was trying so hard to figure it out.
    I didn’t realize I looked that different, but honestly I was unrecognizealbe!! It was a horrible feeling. šŸ˜¦
    Now, no one recognizes me either, b/c now they are used to the bigger me… I like this way better though b/c once they figure out it’s me, they tell me how good I look. Hahhaha! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

