Need motivation to exercise?

It struck me today while reading Lacy’s blog that I’ve never shared how or why it is, exactly, that I’ve taken to Gold’s Gym 5 mornings a week. Me, the never-exerciser! It’s not like I woke up with a burning desire to make a fool of myself in front of all the high school girlies and their TINY LITTLE SHORTS every morning. I hate sweat. I hate my uncool, cheap, baggy workout clothes.

So why do I do it? (other than the fact this is my freaking last chance to finally conquer my weight and I’m terrified of not getting it right?)

Because I read the abstract of a presentation from the 24th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS). I remember printing all 60 pages of abstracts to read on a long car ride to a conference with my mom. (You can find all of last year’s abstracts here. The study I reference is on page eleven.)

In their presentation, 7 researchers from Virginia Commonwealth University studied the outcomes of RNY patients to “determine whether 150 minutes/week of moderate intensity physical activity” resulted in higher rates of pounds lost, percent excess weight lost, BMI change, and total weight loss percentage at 3 months, 6 months, and 12 months out from surgery.

You can see the abstract itself for the statistical findings if you’re into that kind of thing. The numbers really did blow me away in terms of being “statistically significant.” These aren’t innuendos or possibilities or correlations: these findings are cold hard facts.

The bottom line? Exercising at least 150 minutes per week at a moderate intensity made no difference in weight loss at 3 months out. No difference. But at 6 months and 12 months? Wow. Exercising really pays dividends in the latter half of the first post-operative year.

Now we don’t know how many people started exercising at 6 or 12 months, or how many folks were doing high intensity workouts, or any of that info. All we know is that there was a statistically significant difference in weight loss between those who exercised and those who didn’t at 6 and 12 months out.

And that’s my motivation every morning!

(That and the fact that I’m staying on track to accomplish this goal in 35 weeks and 6 days!)

5 Responses

  1. wow. this is giving me emotions-just like mariah carey.

    I am realizing that this half of the equation is just as important as the other. Like, seriously. Whoa. I’m really digesting this.

    I need an acountability partner for this exercise thing….I’m going to go today!

    AND, I’lm going to make it a goal to go every other day…from now on

  2. You are motivating me to keep moving! Thanks!

  3. I need accountability too!! Or someone that will make me feel guilty enough if I don’t go to realize that I’m being a baby!

  4. I’m way not motivated yet, but maybe soon. I did walk up and down my street once today and I walked all over the hospital today. Me tired now.

  5. I tagged you for a Friday Meme, girl! I had to, someone tagged me!

Leave a Reply

