Where she’ll stop, no one knows.

This morning I had a counseling appointment (the Wednesday usual), which I cut short in order to jet over to make second interview at a different college.

During counseling, we talked about how the PhD will come first, marriage second, work third (which, shouldn’t marriage be first??). If I can’t find balance, I have to quit working. Which is absolutely scary. Lee doesn’t make enough dough for our current living situation (read: mortgage), so not working would actually mean not living in our house. Or using fellowship money to pay the mortgage rather than student loan debt. But that’s neither here nor there at this point; for now, for the first year of classes, I’m sure I’ll be able to keep working.

So I leave the counseling session absolutely sure I’d better stay at my current job since at least I know what it entails, and I’m sure I can handle it.

Then the interview. The glorious, energizing, interesting interview. The person who would be my boss? He’s fantastic. He’s calm, he’s smart, he’s the type of boss I like: busy. Too busy to micro-manage. He would work in another building than me, so I’d have plenty of freedom and autonomy to come and go as needed. The Dean? She’s EXACTLY the kind of person I’d want to be 20 years from now. I loved them both. They had great questions, responded well to my answers, and were honest about ups and downs related to the job.

So now we’ll see what  happens. Instead of feeling anxious about what to do or worrying about how it will unfold, I feel more like I’m amused. I’m curious and interested to see what God has planned for my career. If this interview results in a job offer, I’ll pray and think about it. If it doesn’t, I’ll stay right where I am. Either way, the process is amusing.

2 Responses

  1. Good luck… just follow where God leads – he knows best. 🙂

  2. Yup, God already knows where he wants you and I find that feeling to be the absolute best!

Leave a Reply

