Thanks George!

First of all, I must report that I had my first Starbucks Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte last night. Lacy, three cheers to you for reporting on this goodness. 4 bucks for a drink is a little ridonculous, but my gawd was it good! I may have to work it in as part of the reward system. Because it can’t be an everyday thing. (Why? WHY??) My only recommendation: don’t drink one at 8pm like I did. It’s 3:38 am and I can’t sleep because I’m still on a caffeine high.

Speaking of the reward system, I got my pedicure two pounds early. Mom offered, it was a spur-of-the-moment thing, what can I say. Flexibility, people.

Also, our economic stimulus check was direct deposited Friday. Thanks for letting me have some more of my money back, George! But don’t expect me to buy your daughter a nice wedding gift with it. What did we do with the Benjamins? What was our part in stimulating the U.S. economy? $1,117 of our $1,200 check went directly to the Florida Hospital system to pay a balance we owed on Lee’s hernia repair in February. I find this incredibly humorous. Why? Because at least for us, at least this year, the following is true:

Republicans lower your taxes so that you’re able to pay your medical bills.

Democrats will raise my taxes, so that I no longer have to pay medical bills. (Which? Actually isn’t true. Under Barack’s medical plan, my insurance wouldn’t change.)

Silly politicians. It’s all the same. But could somebody please do something about the gas? It’s killing me. $500 a month on gas is, again, ridonculous. It’s almost enough to make me think twice about driving to the beach. Almost.

And the job thing? I am so, so, so torn it’s not even funny. I still have no idea which way I’ll go when I finally make a decision. I’ve worked out every detail: my weekly schedule, the cost in miles, exercise routine, etc. all related to each place of employment. It’s 50/50 in every possible way. I’m praying God will strike me with some sense of “CHOOSE THIS, MEGHAN” before I pull what’s left of my hair out.

And Happy Mother’s Day, muthas! Today I celebrate the fact that while I may or may not ever be someone’s bio-mom, I am already endowed with a mother’s heart. May my mothering instincts be used somehow, somewhere, someday.

3 Responses

  1. giiiiiirl, welcome to my world of insomnia! opportunity cost. Either I live with my caffeine addiction and stay up late, or I give it up and sleep. Oh the choices.

    And yes, I love me some cin. dolce latte goodness. oooh, it calls to me right now. I fell asleep sooo early last night, so I’m up at the five am hour now. khurazy.

    Yay for your rewards! I’m so pleased for you! I have my mani/pedi reward scheduled about ten pounds from now!

    woot!
    hugs,
    Lace

  2. You will so be a mama one day, Megs! Though I was unable to conceive, there are always kids and babies that need homes, so never rule that out if nature elects not to take its course. I always say that the reason some women are infertile is so that there is someone who can raise the children that other mothers can’t take care of.

    Now I have to try Lacy’s drink!
    I look forward to hearing from you tomorrow.

  3. Meg,

    Keep praying and asking God to show you his will… he will tell you just in time for you to make your decision.

    I’ve had one starbucks in the last 6 months because of the cost!!

Leave a Reply

