Prepare for the onslaught

It has been several days since I last posted. I’ve been in a funk, and things are happening, and I’m busy and I’ve been fighting in my head with this whole weight thing. More on that later.

Instead of posting everything all at once, I’ll try to be semi-organized about it. For starters?

I have the best niece and nephew in the world. Alexis & Jose are my favorite kids ever, and they live in a lot of chaos (their parents can’t decide if they love or hate each other), so Lee & I try to “scoop them up” whenever we get a chance. Plus, Lee needs people to play video games with every now and then. : )

So last weekend, we picked them up on Saturday afternoon and went to see Prince Caspian. For kids that see rated R movies on a regular basis I was afraid they’d be bored with it, but they loved it! We have a standing date to see the next one together when it comes out. (Side note: taking 2 kids to the theater doubles the price! Duh, right? But man, I don’t know how people with kids afford to do anything!)

After the movie, we went to eat at Moe’s, where the kids scarfed their dinner and went a little hog wild on chips & queso. Sadly, I did too. I left the restaurant feeling pretty horrible. By the time we got home, all I wanted to do was sleep. So I did. For 13 hours!

When I woke up Sunday morning, I re-joined the par-tay and boogied to make breakfast. My husband is affectionately known as “The Muffin Man” to these kids, as his love for blueberry muffins has been made apparent over there hundreds of sleepovers at our house. So, of course, we had to make muffins for The Muffin Man.

Then Lee wanted eggs.

Then Alexis wanted bacon.

It turned into a crazy feast. Alexis turned camera shy and didn’t want her picture taken, but Lee & Jose don’t mind goofing it up for the camera. Behold the feast:

Breakfast!

Then everyone moved on to video gaming. Behold the expressionless faces:

Zoned out

But then to the beach! Yes, I did get pictures of myself that date, but holy moly… have I got a lot of work left to do. This body does NOT belong in beach pictures. Anyhow, here’s Jose on the shore with his new skim board, and Alexis out in the water:

Jose on shore, Alexis in the water

Jose took quite a few hard falls trying to get the hang of skim boarding. No easy feat!

Jose & his new skim board

So Lee showed him how it’s done:

Lee & Jose on shore

No sunburns, no shark bites. Another wonderful, fabulous day at the beach! And then we promptly dropped the sandy kids off with their parents and drove back to our house, fully remembering why we’re not yet ready to have rugrats of our own.

2 Responses

  1. That looks like so much fun. I so miss the beach and have already decided that the first free time I get, I am jetting the four hours to the sea!

  2. I read these posts backwards… but it looks like a great time!! Wow – 13 whole hours… sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

