Therapy Grad

So I’ve been going to therapy every week since December. Not because I felt like it was necessary, but because it’s recommended for weight loss surgery patients. You know–try to figure out what caused weight gain in the first place, learn new behaviors, practice coping in different ways.

My therapist was on vacation for the past two weeks. I missed our sessions, but I did fine. Today, when we met again after two weeks off, I explained that since I knew I wouldn’t be seeing her, I was careful to do the “emotional work” exercises she had given me, and that I’d been able to do just fine.

At the end of our session, Karen said, “Meghan, I think you’re doing great. You’re actually putting into practice the things we’ve been talking about. I think we should move to meeting every other week.”

And that’s that. I’ve graduated from weekly therapy sessions to twice-monthly sessions. It makes me feel… sane!

4 Responses

  1. YEAH!! Like I said earlier – you are a ROCKSTAR! Makes me wonder if I need to do something like that – to figure out why I can’t keep up a good healthy routine with exercising… am I sabotaging myself?

  2. Hi Meg,
    I’m a friend of Kim J.’s from Maryland. I had to post a comment today. I’ve been in counseling for more than 2 years (my husband left me). I have gone from twice weekly to every other week to every 3 weeks. At that point, my world seemed to implode, and I had to go back to every week for a while. The therapist suggested every other week, and I was so pleased with myself. It’s a work in progress, and it seems like you’re doing great. Congratulations on your “graduation”. 🙂

  3. you are indeeeed a rockstar, meggers.

    *lights her candle and waves it high

  4. @ Shell,

    Thanks so much for sharing your story! My therapist did say I can call or come in whenever I need to, but you’re right… the transition to fewer appointments is scary. Thanks for the heads up!

    Meg

Leave a Reply

