Foodlogging: Day 5

Monday, June 9th:

Workout: 30 minutes of interval on the cross-trainer (315 calories burned)

Breakfast: 1 cup Cheerios, half a large banana

Snack: Large Chick-fil-a Diet Lemonade

Lunch: Chick-fil-a chargrilled chicken breast, 1oz provolone cheese, sliced pickles

Snack: Pure Protein bar

Dinner: Teaching until 8pm, ate animal crackers out of the vending machine

Dinner: When I fixed Lee dinner when I got home, I ate something I lived on during the pureed stage… spaghetti sauce with a lot of parmesan cheese mixed in. Weird, I know.

Totals: According to fitday, today’s food came out to whopping 1,125 calories, 74 g protein. Let’s not even talk about the grams of carbs.

Thoughts: Today was a lesson in planning ahead and eating only when hungry. I shouldn’t have eaten those animal crackers, but I forgot to bring something healthy with me that I could eat during class. And then the spaghetti sauce and cheese? I should have skipped that completely and I wouldn’t have blown it on total calories. What a mess! I also wonder if starting the day with Cheerios instead of a protein threw me off. I’m betting it started a vicious carb cycle.

4 Responses

  1. you know what is interesting…my nut. never even addressed calories or carbs….they only emphasized measuring food, getting protein in, and water. as if they didn’t care about the rest?

    do you know how many calories we are *supposed* to be getting?

  2. No, I really don’t know. My Nut didn’t give a caloric goal either. I’ve read on the message boards it’s 100 calories x the number of months out which, in my case, would mean only 400 calories a day!

    I made the decision early on to always eat at LEAST 800 calories and try to stay below 1200. For me, I want to eat enough that my metabolism stays strong. I’m not interested in eating the bare minimum for survival, since I know my metabolism would be shot when I was done.

    But then again, Melting Mama points out that we all feel like we’ve done wrong if we eat over 1000 calories in day… that’s certainly true for me. I freaked when I saw it was 1125 yesterday!

    On carbs, I know we’re supposed to be on lower carbs, and at least complex whole-grain carbs, but I don’t have a number for that either. Someone on the message boards this week said we need at least 100 grams of carbs per day for our brains to function properly!

  3. The 100 grams of carbs thing is not exactly true… I was on Atkins for 6 months and stayed below 20 grams per day… no brain meltdown for me.

    I didn’t get any guidelines on those to things either – but 400 calories per day?! Seriously?! I got that much when I was on liquids right after surgery… that’s just not realistic… and clearly Meghan you’re doing something right because you’re the only one of us that is still having consistent loss. So I think you’re doing just what your body needs – Lacy and I haven’t quite found that peek yet – but I know I’m looking!

  4. Hrmmm.

    Curious. Well caloriecounter.com says that in order for me to meet my goals by january, I have to eat around 1400 calories a day.

    I wonder what gives. I mean it’s science. You are eating less, you are moving more. why aren’t we losing, Kim?!

    I get so mad at my food when I look down and see how little I’m eating, and still not losing weight.

    Picture me yelling at a tomato.

Leave a Reply

