Father’s Day

Although we all just spent time together at the beach this week, my sister & Greg trekked down from Jacksonville to celebrate Daddy’s Day. We went to my parents house (minus Lee who was working) and ate a scrumpcious homemade spaghetti dinner with a strawberry dessert. Yum.

Despite all the fun, we got only 1 lonely picture from the Father’s Day events this year:

I have the world’s most fantastic Dad, even if he does wear dorky t-shirts around the house. I mean seriously, he doesn’t even know where this t-shirt came from. And I’m pretty sure he doesn’t know what it means….

Anyhoo, now’s as good a time as any to also mention some fantabulous news about my seester. We got to talk a lot at the beach during our slumber party, and we talked a lot about health and what-not. See, Rach has decided to join in the battle to get rid of FAT in our generation. She doesn’t want The Curse either. She’s fighting just like I am.

I am so, so, so proud of her. Unlike me, Rach hasn’t done crash diets and near-anorexia, so I know she’s going to rock this thang. She’s serious. She’s determined. She’s exercising, counting calories, and using Fitday. She’s going hardcore. Which means? I AM NOT ALONE! Yaaaaay!

I’m really excited to get to do this WITH her. Even if she does live far away. *sniffle*

The only weird thing? She said that I had “inspired her with my bravery.” Umm, whaa? That was a little awkward. I’m not exactly brave, and I don’t think I’m inspirational either, but I suppose watching me lose weight (136 pounds to date!) does say WE CAN DO THIS. So we’re going to do it together!

5 Responses

  1. you amaze me. pure and simple. I am so inspired by you too, megs. I just love your spirit and spunk

    🙂

  2. oh, and have you ever considered modeling? seriously? no jokes…have you?

  3. Lacy,

    Part 1: aww, you’re sweet!
    Part 2: HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA FREAKIN’ HA! Pshaw.

    Meg

  4. I think Lacyella is right about the modeling thing…

    You know – I think that people do see us as brave because we’ve not only gone through surgery, but we’ve also put our journey out there for others to share and learn from… I don’t feel like I’m brave either, but others have said that to me as well.

    I find you, Lacy, and Kim incredibly inspirational to me too!

  5. It’s so odd when people call us brave, isn’t it? I’m so happy for your sister!

    I love your dad’s shirt…reminds of my current favorite joke…”What do you get when you combine a brown chicken and a brown cow?” Answer: Brownchickenbrowncow” Say it fast and to the tune of your dad’s shirt 😉

Leave a Reply

