I Wear Cycling Shorts in Public

Yes, I do. I wear bike shorts in public. It’s not pretty, but it makes a world of difference for my arse. I got these Canari Women’s gel shorts at the local Sports Authority earlier this week:

6 panels for maximum comfort, plus gel in the seat area. And that gel? It saved my girly bits. I’ve worn them once at the gym and heck… they may even make those damned seats in the spinning classes doable. But I also wore them on the bike trail today with my dad and…

22.5 miles. I cycled 22.5 miles! I was tired as crap the last 4 miles or so, but the rest of the ride was fantastic. I was so tired in the last mile, in fact, that when we stopped to cross traffic I literally fell off my bike because my legs had turned to rubber. Yeah, that was pretty embarrassing. BUT! I rode 22.5 miles today. And my ass doesn’t even hurt! (My legs, however, are another story).

I feel amazing and strong and even perhaps… athletic. A miracle!

But since I can’t tell the good without also telling the bad, I have to confess: I came home, took a 2-hour nap, and then ate a hot dog (100% beef, no fillers, no bun) and some DORITOS. Doritos are NOT on the food plan! (slaps wrist)

6 Responses

  1. Well, give yourself a break – you did an AWESOME job today! I’m so impressed with your quick progress on the bike trail… that’s amazing!! And who cares that you’re wearing protective pants?! You’re doing something so great for your body!!

  2. I love your shorts. LOL.

  3. Sometimes we just have to cut ourselves breaks, Megs. You are doing fantastic! I cannot wait to be able to ride as far as you have! I could barely make it up the hill from my house today without running into parked cars!

  4. Wow that is quite a way. And I applaud your use of the shorts. What brand are they and do they come big enough to fit a still fat, hopefully not so much after using these shorts, girl?

  5. Hi sweetness!

    I had a dream about you the other night, and you got your hairs chopped off like me, but lee was not a fan. Let me tell you, things have been turbulent since the hair chopping at Chez Huff. *laughs.

    Kay, so, I worked out yesterday for the first time in forever, and I’m all “Gah, I suck. Meghan is biking a billion miles daily. I’m walking a mile and a half. I gotta push it.”

    Anyway, I’m so incredibly proud of you. That must feel so damn ALIVE!

    *huggles

  6. @ Amber… hi there! The brand is Canari, but I didn’t really know anything about the brand when I bought them. I’ve since learned they’re the standard lower-end cycling shorts that everybody wears, and they’re working great for me! The women’s only came up to XL which was supposed to be a 31-34 inch waist, but they fit me at a 38-inch waist. The men’s go to XXL which is like a 44 inch waist I think, and there’s no difference in the padding in men’s and women’s shorts… it’s just the length that seems different. Let me know how it goes if you try it!!

Leave a Reply

