Buh-bye LB

I just went on my last shopping trip to Lane Bryant.

Well, I’m sure I’ll be back there at some point in my future, but not to look for something for me. There are way too many other places I can shop to be hanging around there!

But, you see, I had a merchandise credit leftover from back in the day. And they’re having a big sale. And I have very few clothes that fit.

So I went in and quickly snatched 4 lightweight sweaters and a cardigan set off the clearance rack… for $5 a piece. And then, in order to use my coupon, I needed to buy something regular-priced.

Jeans! I always need jeans! And my new 18’s from Old Navy are falling OFF my body!

But with this new sizing system, I was lost. You know, the red triangle, yellow square bullshit. How the hell am I supposed to know whether I should try on a yellow or a red? And HOW DOES SIZE 1, 2, OR 3 MAKE ANY FREAKING SENSE?! We are big ladies. We don’t wear size 1’s and 2’s and 3’s. And your new system doesn’t fool us.

So I had to get help, and the lady eyeballed me and said I’m either a yellow or red. Try size 3.

The size 3 yellow square’s were so ass-tight on my hips I couldn’t believe it, although the did fit my waist. It was weird.

The size 3 red triangles fit at the waist, but were too big on my hips and thighs.

So I tried a 4-yellow-square and a 2-red-triangle. See how this can get really confusing?

I ended up just buying the 2-red-triangle because that’s the only thing that looked halfway decent. So I left with 5 sweaters and a pair of jeans, which, after my coupon and gift certificate, cost me only $21. THAT right there is the only thing I’ll miss about the LB.

3 Responses

  1. Oh – I think that there are other stores out there that are just as rewarding… just think about the choices at TJ Max or Ross!!

  2. I freakin’ hate their new sizing and have not been back in their store since they started that shite. I am too old to suddenly have to change the way I measure my size. It’s like teaching me damn metrics after years of inches and feet.

    Good for you at getting bargains and even better for you to bid that overpriced store Bu-Bye!

  3. I would be pissed at that sizing method. I used to be a co-mgr there – years ago, it was my first real job. I liked the 14/16 – 26/28 sizing. I can imagine that they are losing customers to this – or that they are trying to gain vanity sizing appeal?

    I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

