6 Months!

Today is 6 months out from my RNY on January 22, 2008. What a crazy whirlwind it has been. I decided very early on that I had a philosophy about this whole RNY thing that included the following personal rules:

  • I chose not to starve myself, even as a new post-op. I ate at least 800 calories per day, every day, since surgery. Sometimes that meant 4 God-awful protein drinks, but I found some that weren’t too bad. Why risk malnourishment and a F’d up metabolism if I don’t have to?
  • I chose to exercise 5 days per week starting in week 8. It began with nothing but walking, and now I’m up to 25-mile bike rides!
  • I chose to follow the philosophy that carbs are not the devil. That there are good, whole-grain carbs like brown rice and whole wheat pasta. This is a mixed bag for me, because while I still believe that carbs are necessary and even healthy, they do cause me to crave more carbs. It’s a precarious balance I’m still working on.
  • I chose to follow the rules: 64 ounces of liquid, every day, for the past 6 months. A minimum of 60 grams of protein, every day, for the last 6 months.
  • I chose NOT to weigh my food or log it in Fitday every day. Doing those two things probably would have helped.

And here’s where I am: 81 pounds down from surgery, 146 pounds down from my highest weight. I have 73 pounds left to reach goal.

I expected my weight loss to be a little faster, honestly, but I’m glad I haven’t wreaked havoc on my body or metabolism to get there. I expected to weight about 212 today, and I weigh 218 instead. I won’t make the goal of reaching 199 by the time school starts August 25th, but I should be under 210. I won’t make goal weight by Christmas, but I should be able to make it by next summer.

The pace is fine. Nothing to panic about, it’s normal to slow down at 6 months. I just have to keep reminding myself that “If I follow my food plan and exercise, I will lose weight!”

And the best part? I’m not miserable while trying. I feel strong, healthy, and confident that I’m doing the right thing.

4 Responses

  1. I love hearing about where you are and where you’ve been and where you are going. 🙂 It makes me so happy to see that you are in a healthy and strong place, Megs!

    I am in awe over this cycling diva you’ve become! Unbelievable. I tried to bike the other day, per your outstanding bikeness, but it hurt the girly bits, as you said, so I said no no no!

    Hurrah! Happy anniversary!

  2. You are doing so great, and I love that your reflection shows how strong and healthy you’ve allowed yourself to become. Congratulations on all you have accomplished and all that you will in the future… I’m so glad to be sharing in this journey with you!

  3. It really is amazing, isn’t it? And you, Mega Megs, are so incredibly committed and I need to follow in your footsteps! You put forth the standard that I need to measure up to!

  4. Congratulations Megs…I think you are doing so fantastically well. Your dedication is so inspirational to me. I know that any time I mosey on over to your blog, I will walk away later with my spirit lifted. Here’s to another successful six months…shine on you crazy diamond…Jil

Leave a Reply

