C25K

As planned, I started the Cool Runnings Couch to 5K program this week.

Owwwwww.

This week’s workouts sound pretty simple: a five-minute brisk walk followed by 20 minutes of alternating 60 seconds of jogging with 90 seconds of walking. That sounds easy, right?

It is not. Owwwwww.

First of all, let’s be clear: I am not out of shape. I ride 30ish miles on my bike each weekend, and I’m in the gym 5 days per week on top of that. I can do all kinds of exercises and machines and workouts. And still?

Owwwwww. This week’s workouts consist of only 8 total minutes jogging each time. But my legs feel like I just ran two marathons. My quads hurt, my hip flexors hurt, and I swear my calves grew by like 2 inches.

But I’ve made it through week one. 9 more weeks until the Orange Blossom 5k. Woot!

(Owwwwww.)

2 Responses

  1. I feel you – my feet bothered me a lot too. It felt like I’d jammed my toes every morning when I woke up!

  2. Good for you, Meg! I’m proud of you! I have no doubts that you will stick to this program and succeed!

Leave a Reply

