My New Weekends

I’ve officially survived my first week as a doctoral student. I love it! I’ve been so energized by what I’m reading that I wake up at night with research ideas and I literally cannot sleep until I think them through and do a little writing. I’m sure that will change later in the semester once I’m sufficiently exhausted.

But weekends aren’t for fun anymore. It’s Sunday afternoon and I have:

  • Finished and emailed my chapter in an anthology about “Femininities and Masculinities in a Global Context” which should be bound and published by the end of 2009. It began with a paper I presented back in February about Bessie Head’s novel A Question of Power being a feminist retelling of the biblical Job narrative. So I’m glad that’s done and shipped off. (At least until editorial revisions come back).
  • Read 400 pages in an anthology about digital humanities
  • Read probably 60 pages worth online about the same topic
  • Decided upon, clarified, did initial research, and posted on a potential topic for a white paper in one of my courses
  • Made contact with: an alum from my program, a professor I’ll be job shadowing, a professor I’ll be interviewing, and my new faculty mentor. I have three appointments on schedule next week to meet with these folks.
  • Collaborated with a classmate on an assignment we have due Friday. Provided feedback on her work and incorporated her feedback into improvements on my own work.
  • Laundered, folded, and put away all of our textiles.
  • Rode 37.8 miles on my bike yesterday.
  • Completed week 1 of the Couch to 5K program this morning.
  • Oh! And learned to skim rocks in our not-draining very scary neighborhood retention pond.

And now I’m going to take a nap before I go grocery shopping.

2 Responses

  1. Wow!! Meg!! I’m so glad you’re taking a nap!

  2. Ah, to be young again! Just reading this exhausted me! I hope you stay energized, girl!

Leave a Reply

