The Granny Chronicles

So I did get an apology letter from my grandma last night, and of course it was terribly apologetic and made me feel like utter crap for making my poor grandma apologize. She explained that the lady at her beauty shop who had gastric bypass is always proudly announcing her weight loss, and that they ask how I’m doing, and she just wants something to be able to tell them.

So I called grandma, explained that of course I love her too, I’m sorry it got this far, and I explained precisely why I’m not proudly announcing my weight loss, and it’s because I feel more ashamed that I have the weight to lose than I feel proud that it’s gone.

She understands, we both cried, life goes on. 🙂

2 Responses

  1. I’m glad you two got it straightened out, though I do hope that one day in the future you’ll be able to cut yourself a break over having the weight to lose in the first place. Were you a former smoker, would you be ashamed to tell people how long you’ve been smoke free? Or a former druggie who everyone saw all spaced out, would you be ashamed to tell them all how long you had been clean?

    I just think you are too hard on yourself, Meg. Yes, we all wish we had never had the need for WLS to begin with but praise God and Alleluia that we had the option to have it, to take control of our lives and our weights at long last! I’d love to see you stop regretting the past and start rejoicing in the here and now. You have come farther than ANY of us! You’re my WLS role model, Meg and I brag on your ass all the time to people I get into discussions with about WLS.

    You have come so far and have so much to be proud of and it’s time to start working on putting the shame behind you. The past is exactly where it belongs; in the past. Don’t let the weight you were back then, affect the person you are now.

    You deserve better.

  2. I completely agree with Kim – but at the same time I understand where you’re coming from too. I am WAY to hard on myself too, but mine isn’t quite shame over where I’ve come from… it’s shame over the fact that my weight loss hasn’t been as good as I feel like it should be. Oh Meg – I so wish that we lived in the same town so that we could be our own little support group and go through this walk together – or at least more together than the internet allows us to be.

Leave a Reply

