Confessions and a Bake Day

First, a confession: with school this semester, I dropped the ball on my health when things got hectic. Something had to give and, as always, it was taking care of my body. This is my normal pattern, this is how I got to be so big in the first place, and this is likely to be an ongoing struggle as I continue to work full-time as a doctoral student. But. Semesters end, life goes on, and there is always opportunity to get back in the game.

I’ve been living in “maintenance mode,” treating myself to things like bagels and crackers and tons of snacks. Time for that to end. I’ve been skipping the gym most days relying on weekend bike rides for my only real exercise. Time for that to end. I’ve been buying clothes, thinking that I’m happy right where I am and I’ll probably stay this size for a while. Time for that to end.

Overall, the semester was successful: I started at like 208, ended at 178. -30 pounds isn’t shabby. But I have to keep reminding myself that I’m not done yet. I went to the gym at 5am this morning and it felt awesome to be back in the old routine. So what if the lady at the front desk has forgotten my name? She’ll re-learn it. Today is all about protein shakes, protein bars, and other forms of low-fat protein. I know what to do and I’m going to do it.

So that’s my confession and my commitment. Now for the fun stuff!

This past Sunday was the annual bake day with my mom and sis. We had so much fun and were so TIRED when the day was over! I leave you with photographic evidence that we destroyed my poor mother’s kitchen:

bake-day-2008-001-2

bake-day-2008-006-5

bake-day-2008-015-2

bake-day-2008-036-2

bake-day-2008-059-2

bake-day-2008-073-2

As you can see, at 178 and size 12, this ain’t over yet! Got to keep working!

2 Responses

  1. Meg- you look fantastic… I just had to say… it looks like such a fun day!!

    I understand how when stress hits the fan… our natural instict is to let ourselves go while we keep up with everything else. You realize it, and all I can say is that you still managed to lose 30 pounds! That’s more than I lost this “semester”!

    Keep up the good work, and enjoy the break!

  2. You look amazing; absolutely beautiful and radiant. We all fall off from time to time but you are maintaining and have done that well!

    I need a bake day. I am so behind and as I am trying some new splenda recipes this year, I need to get on the ball!

Leave a Reply

