The Thrills!

So what if I’ve only lost 3 pounds in the last month? Honestly, I feel awesome! I look pretty fly! Being closer to “normal” is feeling fine. 4 pounds until I’m official not “obese.”

See this cute little peacoat? I bought it yesterday at New York & Company. Size 12.

peacoat

I also bought cute earrings, and a bracelet, and some faux snakeskin shoes. And a size Medium shirt.

Suddenly, I want cute clothes. I want a sense of style. I want pretty things and great makeup and lots of cute little dresses. I think I might actually feel… pretty! (Too bad I can’t really afford this new hobby.)

I saw my sister-in-law Carla Friday night and she almost flipped out. She said, “MEGHAN! What size are those pants you’re wearing?!” (she’s not exactly tactful)

Me: “Umm, a 12 I think?”

Carla: “Well damn, you passed me. I can’t believe it. I need to go on a diet. What are those protein things you drink again? I can’t believe you’re wearing a size 12. My pants are a size 14.”

Me: “I like the Pure Protein brand, but everybody’s different. You kind of have to try them all to see what you like.”

Carla: “I weighed 195 pounds at the doctor yesterday. How much do you weigh? What size is that shirt? Did you get it at Old Navy?”

Me: “I weigehd 178 this morning, but you’re like 4 inches taller than me. You should weigh more than me! This shirt is a Large, and yeah… it’s from Old Navy… how did you know that?”

And the conversation went on and on like that. Lee’s sisters are so funny. When my grandma asks about my weight I get offended and want to cry. When they demand to know my size I feel like I’d better just tell the truth or they’ll beat me up!

Yep, I’ve officially passed Carla. Is it wrong to take pleasure in that?  🙂

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations Meg!! I need some help figuring out how to kick things into a higher gear come the first of the year… want to help?

  2. I don’t think it is wrong at all, though today I am struggling with very similar questions…

    Anyway, yes, clothes shopping is great fun! I love it now where for years I absolutely hated it!

Leave a Reply

