One Year Out!

Today marks a year since my RNY. It seems like I’m supposed to do the obligatory “one year reflections” post, but with all the plastic surgery nonsense going on (plus school, plus work, plus the rest of my life) I haven’t had much time for reflection.

What I can say is that I’m so glad I did what I did when I did. I feel a million times better this year than I did last year.

I was reading back over my posts from January of last year, and it’s strange to look back on the roller coaster of emotions. I am so blessed and so grateful for the Cut & Paste Girls out there who’ve been through this entire journey with me (and even those of you who haven’t decided whether to have surgery yet!). You’re the ones who’ve been a part of the day-by-day challenges and struggles that are a part of this whole weight loss journey. Thanks for being there for me!

As for numbers, my highest weight was 364. I was 299 on the day of surgery. I’m 171 today.

Considering a goal weight of 145 (because it’s a “normal” BMI), I’ve lost 87.85% of my excess weight thus far. I have 26 pounds to reach goal.

But I feel like I’ve already won. I never expected gastric bypass to be a cure for life. I never expected it to cure my urge to overeat or to make things easy. It’s still tough. I still want to eat all day long. I still can. But what I did want from my RNY is to help me get through a huge chunk of weight so that I can wage this fight against fat in the 100’s.

So that’s where I am now. I’m still fighting, still working, still learning. But I’m doing it all in the 100’s, where my bones don’t ache.

I’d say that’s a victory!

2 Responses

  1. It has been such a pleasure watching this journey you’ve been on… you’re amazing and get even better every day!

  2. Okay, I’m a day late for your celebration party, but happy anniversary! You are still my WLS rock star, Meg, as well as being the one C&P gal I have actually gotten to meet!

Leave a Reply

