Who Needs Ice Cream?

The best part about a low-sugar diet is that fruit tastes better. My tastebuds aren’t all whacked out with high-fructose corn syrup for a change. (Although I am heavily reliant on Splenda. Let’s be honest here.)

Remember banana splits? I don’t think I ever actually ate one, but I’ve been devouring my own version non-stop lately. Seriously–I ate this concoction at least once every day this week.

So.

I take a peeled banana and stick it in a bowl.

I then sprinkle Hershey’s dark cocoa powder (5 calories, full of antioxidants!) on top.

I then add maybe a tablespoon of Torani syrup. I change the flavors up depending on my mood.

I then add a bit of no sugar added whipped cream.

And, depending on the Torani flavor I’m working with, I might add a dash of cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice on top.

And voila! It’s a delicious dressed-up banana that tastes like heaven. It’s better than ice cream, I swear. And now I’m about to make one for a pre-breakfast snack….

3 Responses

  1. I get some of the best sweet food ideas from you! Thank you!

  2. That sounds pretty good actually… and you know what I’d totally throw on there? toasted coconut!

    I was eating some natural peanut butter yesterday with a piece of whole grain bread, and I was actually craving a banana to put in there with it just for some sweetness without having to add jelly.

  3. Yummm that sounds delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

