Weight Weirdness

At one point last week, I weighed in at 167. Today I’m back at 171.6. I need to take stock and figure out what the heck is going on. Contributing factors could be:

  1. Exercise has been consistently inconsistent (ha!). I’ve never dropped below working out 3 days per week, but I’m not on a very regular schedule right now.
  2. I quit birth control about 3 weeks ago in preparation for plastics. Maybe my hormones are screwy?
  3. I haven’t been to a counseling appointment since 12/31/08. My stress level is definitely higher than normal. Maybe the discipline of going to my counseling sessions helps control stress and impacts weight and blah blah blah. The next appointment with Dr. Estill is Wednesday of next week and then I’ll be back to my every-other-week routine.
  4. Lord, I’ve been eatin’ some carbs. Popcorn, cheez-its, and my sister’s homemade carrot cake. BAD MEG!
  5. I’ve also been getting less than 64 oz of water. And I’ve noticed that sometimes when I’m thirsty, I reach for a snack instead of a drink. Duh.

So. As you can see, I’ve been lax in the “follow RNY rules for life” department. In a way, I’m not worried. I know how to get back on track. It’s really not that big a deal.

However. My plastic surgery is in less than 12 weeks. I have to buckle down to be at the optimal weight going into that surgery for the best results.

So it’s protein supplements, water, vegetables, fruit, and only then can I entertain thoughts of carrot cake (and we all know that after eating all the right things we don’t even want carrot cake). It’s also 5 days working out, no excuses.

And with that said, I’ll be back on track in just a few days! 🙂

5 Responses

  1. Girl – this happens all the time – but the water thing is key… I can’t believe how stupid I’ve been!! 🙂 Hang in there – you’ll be back on track soon… you’re my hero!!

  2. By the way… you had to stop the pill for the plastics?? Geez…. you’d better not get pregnant before me!! 🙂

  3. You already know this but you are gonna be fine…you know where the horse is, so you just have to climb back up on it…and get to gettin on little missy…

    :o) Jil

  4. I’ve been eating popcorn like it’s going outta style!!! Good thing it’s only 100 cal/bag!

  5. I find that when I take a really hard dive and get run over by the carb wagon after falling off, my weight goes up a few pounds until I get it under control again. I love carbs…and hate them…respectively.

Leave a Reply

