Any given day

Kim was asked to describe what she eats on any given day and passed the question along to all the Cut & Paste Girlz. I’m happy to oblige!

Honestly, I don’t have nearly as much variety in my diet as I should. I’ll list the reocurring foods I live on.

Anytime Foods / Snacks

  • Pure Protein Bars: I eat these constantly. They are the #1 most-consumed food in my diet! I buy them at Wal-Mart at $6.27/6 bars. Chocolate Deluxe is my favorite flavor but I also keep Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter, and Smores on rotation. Each bar = 180 calories, 20g protein.
  • Dannon Light & Fit Yogurt: I eat these about 3 times per week as a snack. I usually mix in fresh fruit. 80 calories for a serving, but they’re not sugar free. They work fine for me though!
  • Jello Instant Pudding: I buy the sugar-free, fat-free instant variety, whip it up on weekends, and snack on it all week. The milk has carbs, but it’s better than some other alternatives. My favorite concoction? Mix Vanilla pudding with canned pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and sugar-free caramel syrup. Mmmm. (I think this came from Kim’s Cuisine!)
  • I use variations on this protein/whole grain cake recipe from Eggface about once a month.
  • Fruit: I eat two servings of fruit most days, and that would typically include bananas, apples, strawberries, blueberries, nectarines, grapes, plums, or grapefruit.That’s my typical fruit rotation!
  • Dry Roasted Peanuts: too bad the calories add up so quickly!
  • Popcorn: This is a problem food for me so I keep it at a minimum, but I probably eat popcorn a few times a month.
  • Crackers: when I’m not being careful, I eat Kashi crackers, cheez-its, wheat thins, and triscuits. I have to keep these out of sight or I will definitely, 100% overeat on them. Same goes for pretzels. And tortilla chips (except tortilla chips kinda make me feel sick).

Breakfast Foods

  • Special K Protein Plus Cereal: Honestly, I eat this very rarely but always keep it in the pantry. I probably have it twice a month because I don’t normally have a sit-down breakfast.

Lunches

  • Flat out wraps: If you haven’t tried these yet, buy them this week!! A light sun-dried tomato wrap has 90 calories, 9g fiber, 9g protein, and reasonable carbs. I add cold cut turkey, some cheese, and fresh veggies for a yummy wrap. I’ve had this lunch for the past 3 days!
  • Kashi frozen meals: I don’t eat these often (few times a month) but always keep them on hand. Most of them are low-sugar and good on protein, but you have to watch out for carbs. I like the Lemongrass Coconut Chicken and Southwest Chicken.
  • Deli turkey and cheese: I just roll it up, dip in dijon mustard, and munch away! I like to keep pepperjack and swiss cheese on hand for this purpose.
  • Leftovers from dinner

Dinners

I make the following foods over and over and over and over:

  • Eggface’s chili recipe
  • Slow-cooked chicken & salsa (throw frozen chicken breasts into the crockpot with a container of salsa and can of cheddar cheese soup–easy!!)
  • Slow-cooked southwest pork
  • Shepherd’s pie (I avoid the potatoes)
  • Pizzas made on the flat out wraps
  • Tacos
  • Macaroni & Ham (I use a delicious Southern Living recipe that’s pretty light, and I use Barilla protein plus pasta… not exactly healthy, but whatever)
  • Pita breads filled with salad and broiled chicken
  • Chicken stir-fry with brown rice

Beverages

Here’s how I get that 64 ounces!

  • Coffee–I know, only non-caffeinated beverages are supposed to count, but whatever. And for me, coffee always includes creamer and torani syrups and splenda.
  • Celestial Seasonings Teas: I drink these at work between meals. Cinnamon Apple Spice is my favorite. Yumm.
  • Fuze Slenderize. Delicious. 40 calories for a bottle.
  • Chick-fil-a Diet Lemonade. Mmmm. 30 calories, 3g sugar.
  • The occasional Coke Zero or Diet Ginger Ale. Yeah. I said it. I do sodas.
  • Oh, and plain water. That too.

Other things that stock my kitchen

  • Splenda: can’t live without it!
  • Torani syrups: I currently have Irish Creme, Carmel, Vanilla, Raspberry (FAV!), Coconut, English Toffee and Kahlua. I buy them at a local World Market for about $5 a bottle on sale.
  • Pure Protein shakes. If I have pouch pain for some reason or if I need the liquids, I fall back on the shakes. I have 6 cases in my pantry right now! I’m sure I’ll be using these again before and after my plastic surgery since protein is so important for healing. I but them when they’re on sale at Vitamin Shoppe.
  • Nuts: almonds & walnuts are always on hand for mixing into pudding or yogurt. I like to keep a reasonable amount of healthy fat in my diet.
  • Frozen veggies: I eat Green Giant Immunity Boost and just-for-one Broccoli, Carrots, and Italian Seasoning constantly. Like almost every day. I have never figured out how to cook vegetables well, so I rely on these and they’re gooood!
  • Kim’s recipe for Merry Marinated Veggies. I swear, I’ve made these at least twice a month since the recipe was posted! I like to make it on weekends right after I grocery shop and then I’ve got yummy veggies to munch on all week!

In terms of an eating schedule, I like to stick to the following:

6:00 AM: Go to the gym / 20 oz of water

9:00 AM: Coffee or hot tea

11:00 AM: Pure Protein Bar

1:00: Lunch

2:00: hot tea

3:00: Snack 1

4:00: some kind of drink. If I have a diet soda, this is when it would happen

5:00: Snack 2

6:00 (drive home from work): 20 oz water

7:30: Dinner

And then I try not to snack too much after dinner. As you can see, I’m either eating or drinking pretty much all day long! 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Tell me that you eat before 11 AM, please! Thanks for the kudos on the recipe links, but I don’t think I gave you the idea for the pudding – unless you adapted it from something else I did.

    I wonder if that would work for coconut cream cravings?? I love coconut cream pie, but need just something quick that would give me a little something sweet.

  2. sounds like me….very similar to my lists. 🙂

  3. Thanks for posting this, Meg! It is so helpful for me and I see that I’m not as far off as I think I am in my eating! I may have to give the protein bars another go, but ugh! I have never liked them.

  4. “6:00 AM: Go to the gym / 20 oz of water”

    I haven’t seen 6 am in a long time…

Leave a Reply

