Vitamin Update

It was time to re-stock on vitamins anyway, and with all the focus on vitamins yesterday I did some price comparisons again. I’ll be trying some capsules for the first time since surgery, so we’ll see how that goes! Here are the products I decided on.

From www.bariatriceating.com:

  • Celebrate brand Iron + C tablets. I was using the Bariatric Advantage brand chewable iron, but the Celebrate product has the same nutrition for less money. Plus the chewables were super-sweet and had a tendency to go mushy before I could finish the bottle. That’s partially my fault since I’m sure you’re not supposed to store them in a steamy bathroom medicine cabinet, but hey–I take them at night before I brush my teeth! I’m hoping the tablets hold up better.
  • Celebrate brand Dry Vitamin D capsules. They’re only 1000 IU of D3, but I’m getting D in all my calcium citrate supplements as well. Kim had recommended this sublingual D3 which looks awesome, but it’s $7.80 for 60 1000 IU tablets whereas Celebrate is $7.99 for 90 1000 IU tablets, so I’ll try Celebrate first.
  • Solgar B-50 Complex. I’m sure I could pick up a comparable B-complex at the grocery store, but every time I look at them the capsules look ginormous! I don’t know if these are any smaller, but I figured that if they’re marketed directly to RNY post-ops, it’s probably doable!

As for my other vitamins, I’ll be switching to store-brands since there doesn’t seem to be any difference between bariatric formulas and others.

  • I’ll finish this chewable multi-vitamin with extra E, D, A, and K and then switch to something like Centrum Silver complete, Flintstone’s complete, or whatever.
  • I love these Bariatric Advantage calcium citrate lozenges. I’ll probably keep buying these even though they’re expensive because they’re just yummy! I’m going to keep taking two of these every day as I have been, and I’m adding 2-3 citrical petites since I’ve been unknowingly skimping on calcium.

So that’s it for now. I’ll probably need to re-order in August so I’m stocked for the fall semester, and I’ll re-evaluate then.

2 Responses

  1. Let me know what you think – because my issue is that I feel like I’m taking too much… not in terms of the supplements themselves, but if I could cut down on the volume of actual pills – I’d be happier. 🙂

  2. […] May 30, 2009 by megameggs I mentioned all the areas I need to assess, and now that I’ve got vitamins squared away for the time being*, I’m trying to figure out what in the heck to do about […]

Leave a Reply

